Memories of Christmas Past

At Prêt a Manger

xmas lights downtown

Chocolates anyone?

yawn**

Ohai

smallest Christmas tree

Christmas in the Philippines was awesome. Christmas season starts in September, believe it or not.  They start counting the days until christmas, start decorating, and start shopping for christmas presents!  We always have a big party outside/outdoors, my uncle would always come home from the states and give us prizes when we win the games.  I remember the first time I saw a US dollar. lol  We decorate the parking lot and have games with prizes, music, dancing, and at least two whole roast pigs that my dad and uncles kill and roast themselves.  I always felt bad when I would hear the pig scream when they’re cutting his neck and draining the blood out, and soak him in boiling water to get the fur off,  but, oh he’s so yummy when he’s cooked for a few hours spinning on top of charcoal, stuffed with lemongrass and his skin turns red and crispy.  If you’re wondering how it looks like cooked, google LECHON. I know.

Anyway, although christmas in the states is wonderful too, nothing can compare to my christmas and childhood in the Philippines.  I will always have the fondest memories of my time there, and I’ll never forget where I came from.  I hope that Christmas will still be in your hearts despite the tragedy of the typhoon #Sendong in my hometown, Cagayan de Oro city.  I hope the stuff I’m sending will help.

I miss you Philippines!!! I miss you CDO!

2 thoughts on “Memories of Christmas Past

Leave a Reply

