Food Truck Nation

Today I decided to have lunch from Big D’s Grub by the World Financial Center/ Winter Garden area. There are other food trucks there, I think it varies every weekday. You can see what food trucks will be there on what day here. I plan to try every one of them! But Big D’s Grub is all about korean tacos and I’ve really been craving some lately so I picked that food truck.

I got three tacos for $7.00, which is not bad at all! There’s 4 tacos to choose from:

**From their website**

#1 BULGOGI

Lean beef marinated in soy sauce, garlic, sesame seed oil, served with kimchi puree, zesty scallion relish and cool, rich crema.

#2 SPICY PORK

Juicy pork marinated in Big D’s secret spice mix, topped with kimchi puree and zesty scallion relish.

#3 GINGER CHICKEN

Tender chicken mixed with ginger sauce, served with fresh chopped cilantro.

#4 SPICY CHICKEN

Tender chicken mixed with spicy mayo, served with fresh chopped cilantro.
**Big D’s Favorite!**

I picked #1, #2 and #3. Here are some pics.

ImageImagefoodtrucks, schnitzel & things, coolhausImageImage

The chicken was okay, the bulgogi was good but…..My favorite was the Spicy Pork! I just loooove pork. LoL The sauce was spicy and on point. I want more..now! Eating outside too.. it’s just so relaxing and nice, plus it was super duper nice today.

All that spicy yummy pork made me crave for some sweets.  I was thinking about going to the nearby Financier bakeshop which sells some of my favorite french macarons, but then I notice this really cute looking food truck and was hoping it would be a dessert one and it was!  How lucky!

It’s called CoolHaus and they sell gourmet desserts specializing in ice-cream sandwiches.  The have awesome and unusual flavors like Fried chicken and waffles gelato!!! WTF.

coolhaus, desserts, gourmet, food truck nation, food trucks, winter garden, new york city, yummy, nom nom, red velvet, nutella,

You can pick any combination of cookies and gelato. And guess what?  The paper is edible! It’s made out of potato and soy ink.  Awesome right?  It remind me of those childhood sweets called white rabbit candies.

So..wanna know what I got?  Behold!

It’s the Nutella and roasted almond gelato and red velvet cookie ice-cream sandwich!

coolhaus, desserts, gourmet, food truck nation, food trucks, winter garden, new york city, yummy, nom nom, red velvet, nutella, coolhaus, desserts, gourmet, food truck nation, food trucks, winter garden, new york city, yummy, nom nom, red velvet, nutella, coolhaus, desserts, gourmet, food truck nation, food trucks, winter garden, new york city, yummy, nom nom, red velvet, nutella,

 

Okay stop drooling…

 

2 thoughts on “Food Truck Nation

Leave a Reply

